Reverse Chocolate

I had the inexplicable need to buy white chocolate chips yesterday. I had no idea what I wanted to bake with them, just that they were necessary in my life at that moment. Maybe it was because I had just finished from the dentist and my brain thought no cavities =chocolate. Lots of it. It must’ve made sense at the time.

Reverse Cookies

So I got home with my white chocolate chips and then there was a period of what now? and frantically Googling white chocolate chip recipes and how to bake without a beater. Eventually I ended up at a baking site I used to drool at before I decided I should bake as well. I’ve spent many afternoons reading her post about cinnamon sugar pull-apart bread, because cinnamon should be in everything, but that I haven’t made yet because bread is scary (also I don’t own a loaf pan…. details). I went for something a little bit easier and tweaked her double chocolate chip cookies recipe instead. As a side note, Joy the Baker is one of my favourite food blogs. Her photography is beautiful and pretty much every recipe makes my mouth water…check it out!

The entire process was relatively painless. I had a moment where I added the egg when I was supposed to cream butter and sugar first, but it turned out to be a minor glitch. The recipe also says to beat for 5-6 minutes, but since I still don’t own a beater, I was hand-mixing and that was not about to happen. My arms are going to be so fit soon. I can feel it. It’s like going to the gym but you get cookies at the end. My kind of gym, to be honest.

Reverse Cookies

I also put half white sugar and half brown instead of one cup of white sugar. I don’t know why I did that…it just seemed like a good idea at the time. And since it also, didn’t ruin the cookies, I think it was an okay decision, even if it was a bit of a useless one. One cup of sugar does make the cookies quite sweet though, so if you’re looking for something less decadent, I’d try adding a bit less. I also put white chocolate chips instead of dark, but that was more because of the impulse buy than anything.

I also found that baking them for 10 minutes was perfect, otherwise they would have been over-baked. These cookies are great because they don’t require a lot of ingredients, so I didn’t start making them to find I don’t have an essential ingredient. Like sugar. I’ve learned not to make that mistake. All in all, this recipe was simple, with minimal ingredients and turned out delicious. I’d recommend it for quick baking sessions.

Reverse Cookies

Leave a comment