The Baker Games

I’m still recovering from this one. It started off as an innocent baking potluck of sorts with friends but ended up as a Hunger Games-style free for all. Except no one was hungry because we ate so much and our weapons of choice were cheesecake bars and whipped cream. If this was The Baker Games I’d betray everyone and go for the electric mixer as soon as the horn sounded.

These should come with an explosion warning label

These should come with an explosion warning label

Since I was working, I came an hour late with Pillsbury pizza dough and the promise of but-I-made-some-of-it! cheese stuffed garlic rolls. They turned out delicious, but I’d recommend adding a little bit more cheese so the mozzarella doesn’t get lost in the dough. The recipe itself is really easy to follow once you’ve got the dough ready (or if you’re cheating like me), and it’s really just a matter of folding the cheese into the dough like a dumpling, brushing it with butter, garlic and Italian seasoning and then sprinkling with Parmesan. They would be great as a quick appetizer, or for days when you just want to burrow at home with something cheesy and 16 hours of Netflix.

My friends are a lot more adept at this baking thing, so they had already started making a few things, like a Nilla wafer trifle and I felt a bit like that kid that shows up to class 10 minutes late, with no pencil and always says “wait what” after the prof sets out an assignment because they weren’t listening. I did finish baking first though, so I spent the rest of the evening mooching food from person to person, turning the wheel thing for the pasta maker and shouting things about relationships depending on good pasta.

Food Fest Food Fest

I don’t have a lot of pictures, mostly because I was too busy eating everything in sight and partly because I’m a terrible food blogger, but we already knew that.

Food Fest Food Fest

At the end of the night, we had fresh homemade pasta with shrimp Alfredo, my cheese rolls, a trifle, tarte tatin and mars bar cheesecake bars. I kind of had an out of body experience at one point from all the food, but it was such an amazing night that it’s okay.

Food Fest Food Fest

Leave a comment