Frankenstein’s Monster

I cheated. Kind of. I half cheated and I experimented and I made something that I have no recipe for because I’m a terrible food blogger. I’m sorry I’ve failed you, food blogging world.

Obviously after baking a grand total of two times, I’m a born pastry chef and this gives me rights to experiment, so with a vague idea of something I’d seen on some site or other, I set out to make the brookie. But decided to put cream cheese in it as well so it turned into the brownie-cookie-cream-cheese cupcake and I’ve had so much sugar during this process that I can feel it coating my tongue and my eyes and everything else as well. I’m abstaining from sugar for the next 27 minutes, I promise.

Brookies

Anyway, I took the cookie dough from the four dozen cookie fiasco, made boxed brownie mix (don’t look at me) and then realized that the brownie mix wasn’t nearly as thick as I needed for cookies and that this was Not Going To Work. In all honesty, I should have just followed this recipe but I got ahead of myself. Lesson learned.

Thankfully muffin tins are a thing that were invented and that’s how the brownie-cookie-cream-cheese cupcake came into fruition. Otherwise I would have ended up half baked cookie things and no one would have been happy.

Brookies Brookies

This madness had some method. The bottom of the cupcake liner had cookie dough, with a bit of brownie on top, then cream cheese and finally more brownie mix. I don’t even know how long I baked it for, just checked every now and again to see if the toothpick came out clean.

They still tasted delicious though, no matter how decadent. I’m going on a green tea cleanse now… chew on some ice cubes… eat my vegetables…

Brookies

Leave a comment