Manuel Latruwe

I recently visited Belgian bakery Manuel Latruwe for lunch and really enjoyed their food! It’s a small bakery located in downtown, and serves both breakfast and lunch, with a wide range of pastries and fresh breads. I had the mushroom and goat’s cheese quiche. It’s a little bit pricey, but it was also some of the the best quiche I’ve had in town.

20140922_122623

The quiche was quite big and filling, so I didn’t have much room for dessert, but I took a crème caramel to go. The dessert was a bit too sweet, but delicious nonetheless. Sometimes you just have to treat yourself to something excessively indulgent.

20140922_122959

The only downside to their breakfast and lunch menu is that a lot of the items had pork/ meat in them and for someone who doesn’t eat pork or is vegetarian, options are limited. They did have some gluten- free pastries and since bakeries with gluten-free options are far and few, it was nice to see somewhere that had more than one option, and staff that knew which items contained gluten and which didn’t. I’ll definitely be back for dessert, and make sure that that’s all I’m going for, because some of those pastries did look amazing.

Leave a comment